Back to the future of soil metagenomics

Joseph Nesme, Wafa Achouak, Spiros N. Agathos, Mark Bailey, Petr Baldrian, Dominique Brunel, Åsa Frostegård, Thierry Heulin, Janet K. Jansson, Edouard Jurkevitch, Kristiina L. Kruus, George A. Kowalchuk, Antonio Lagares, Hilary M. Lappin-Scott, Philippe Lemanceau, Denis Le Paslier, Ines Mandic-Mulec, J. Colin Murrell, David D. Myrold, Renaud NalinPaolo Nannipieri, Josh D. Neufeld, Fergal O'Gara, John J. Parnell, Alfred Pühler, Victor Pylro, Juan L. Ramos, Luiz F.W. Roesch, Michael Schloter, Christa Schleper, Alexander Sczyrba, Angela Sessitsch, Sara Sjöling, Jan Sørensen, Søren J. Sørensen, Christoph C. Tebbe, Edward Topp, George Tsiamis, Jan Dirk Van Elsas, Geertje Van Keulen, Franco Widmer, Michael Wagner, Tong Zhang, Xiaojun Zhang, Liping Zhao, Yong Guan Zhu, Timothy M. Vogel, Pascal Simonet*

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Contribution to journalComment/debate

100 Scopus citations
Original languageAmerican English
Article number73
JournalFrontiers in Microbiology
Issue numberFEB
StatePublished - 10 Feb 2016

Bibliographical note

Funding Information:
This material was supported in part by the National Science Foundation under Grant no. 1051481; any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the authors and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.


  • Metagenomic
  • Microbial ecology
  • Soil ecology
  • Soil microbiology
  • Terrestrial microbiology

Cite this