The family methanomicrobiaceae

Aharon Oren*

*Corresponding author for this work

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapterpeer-review

12 Scopus citations


The family Methanomicrobiaceae currently (December 2013) consists of six genera: Methanomicrobium, Methanoculleus, Methanofollis, Methanogenium, Methanolacinia, and Methanoplanus, with, respectively, 1, 9, 5, 4, 1, and 3 species (not including later subjective synonyms). This family of mesophilic or moderately thermophilic and neutrophilic methanogens belongs to the order Methanomicrobiales. The members are rod shaped or irregular coccoid in shape. Cells possess a protein S-layer wall. Methanogenesis from H2/CO2 or from formate is the major energy-generating process; some species can also use primary or secondary alcohols as the electron donor for the reduction of CO2 to methane. Acetate and other growth factors may be required. Members of the Methanomicrobiaceae have been found in a wide variety of anaerobic environments where methane is produced: the rumen of ruminant animals, anaerobic marine sediments, wetlands, oil wells, and others.

Original languageAmerican English
Title of host publicationThe Prokaryotes
Subtitle of host publicationOther Major Lineages of Bacteria and The Archaea
PublisherSpringer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg
Number of pages16
ISBN (Electronic)9783642301230
ISBN (Print)3642389538, 9783642301223
StatePublished - 1 Jul 2014

Bibliographical note

Publisher Copyright:
© Springer-Verlag Berlin Heidelberg 2014. All rights reserved.


Dive into the research topics of 'The family methanomicrobiaceae'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this